Packing, Packing, Packing…

Packing, Packing, Packing…

So I’ve got to say, this is one of the craziest weekends I’ve ever had. Between packing my little sister up for Girls’ Camp and making last-minute purchases for sister missionaryhood, I’ve had hardly a second to think to myself. It has been really nice to spend time with Mom and Cici, though, so it’s okay.

Just like leaving college, I don’t think anything feels real until you have most of your stuff in a huge, barely-under-the-weight-limit suitcase. Of course, that’s not even counting the second suitcase, entirely made up of clothing. And books. And basically whatever else we can stuff in there. I mean, 18 months is a looong time for a lady.

Meanwhile, I can’t help but think about how fast my time in NC seems to be running out. I’ve decided to stop oscillating between hyper-excitement and anxiety about leaving my family. I know I’ll be okay as soon as I get out there, and I’m actually DOING the work. At the same time, though, to think I’ll see my dad for the last time in a year and a half on Sunday when I go to get set apart? Yikes.

I must say, though, that in all honesty I’m actually not nervous at all. I feel like this is a part of me, not something that’s going to completely take away who I am. Maybe I prepared myself so long to magically transform into this sister-missionary being, that I forgot to notice I was actually becoming the person I need to be when I walk through those doors.

I love the Gospel of Jesus Christ. I love how His Light can change people, by bringing them out of darkness. I know that Heavenly Father loves each of us. Sometimes He allows us to go through trials because of our choices, sometimes through the choices of others. Sometimes He allows us to reach a point in our lives where we can’t see a way out, because that’s the only time we’ll actually look up and pay attention to the greater Plan He has for us. I have seen this time and time again, and I know that He blesses us when we really need it, and when we will most realize and appreciate those blessings. My challenge for you (yes, YOU!!) is to pay attention to little details in your life. Did you make a green light when you were in a hurry? Is your family more in harmony with one another around the same time you made a hard decision, which you knew to be right? ¬†Did you happen to run into the very person you really wanted to see, in a gas station parking lot? As a dear friend of mine often says, “Heavenly Father is in the details of our lives.”

May we seek to find the peace we desire in knowing that our Father in Heaven has a plan for us, a plan that will bring greater happiness and blessings than we can even imagine in this life. No matter what trials you have been facing, no matter how severe or how internal, He knows. He KNOWS. And He is waiting, with arms outstretched, for His children to return to Him.

