MTC

MTC

So this past week has been way crazy. As soon I walked onto the MTC campus, I had absolutely no doubt in my mind, that this is EXACTLY where Heavenly Father wants me to be! The schedule – waking up at 6:30, lights out by 10:30, is really not that hard to get used to, and the classes and teachers here are absolutely amazing. I love this gospel so much!

My companion for the MTC is Sister Field. She’s a runner from Idaho, and I am STILL sore from our first gym time when I offered to run with her. Needless to say, we are very different. But only in the best of ways! She is absolutely darling, and I love her to death! (Insert happy thoughts for being able to still hug sisters…) We have so much fun together, but most of all I think our attitudes are both very complementary, and we learn a lot as well.
My impressions of the first day and a half of the MTC? There is a HUGE difference, even if you wouldn’t think it, between 18-19yr old Elders and 19-20-21-year old Sisters. Huge. But our District and Zone are wonderful, and our elders have definitely grown up a lot in the past week.

I have to say, I never realized how much of an impact my attitude has on other people, especially the elders. It seems like a smile, a laugh, or a desire to sing is absolutely infectious here! I don’t think I have ever been so happy in my life. Of course, there are ups and downs everyday, but the joy I feel is just absolutely wonderful. I know it will be hard, but I know it will be so worth it.

One thing that I have been praying for is to know why I’m here. I know God has blessed me with the desire to serve a mission, but now I’m trying to understand why. All I know now is that I am more than happy to be here, and that I am definitely not here for myself, which really makes it worthwhile. I feel like if I was here for myself, then I wouldn’t really feel the same conviction about serving and becoming the best I can. I love Heavenly Father, and I will do anything for Him. And that’s all I need to know!

For those of you young ladies stressing about going on a mission, pray. The answers will come. Pray before you decide. Before you see your Bishop. Before you shop for clothes. Pray to know His will, to feel His love, to understand His blessings. Prayer is the soul’s most sincere desire. Even if you don’t think you have anything to pray about, you do. You have a loving Heavenly Father, just waiting to hear from you! He loves you SO much.
And most of all? Pray to know that the Book of Mormon is true, that Joseph Smith was a real Prophet, called of God to restore the gospel of Jesus Christ upon the earth. IT IS TRUE. I have such a testimony of the Book of Mormon. Elder Holland has told us that after hundreds of years of different rumors, different ‘popular sayings’ trying to dispel, or distort, or disprove the Book of Mormon, NONE of them have stood the test of time. Why? Because the Book of Mormon is the WORD OF GOD. It is true. It holds the doctrine of Christ, and how we can return to live with our Father in Heaven again. It was brought forth by God for THESE DAYS. It holds the answers to all of our questions, maybe indirectly, but still with the Spirit of God. I know it’s true, because I have read it, and I have prayed about it, and I have received my answer from the God of Heaven and Earth, the Father of our spirits. Man is not perfect. Man cannot know the answers to anything unless we ask the Only Perfect Being we know – Heavenly Father. If you haven’t read the Book of Mormon, you cannot tell me it is not true. And if you have? You will not. I love the Book of Mormon so much. I know that it is only through Faith in Jesus Christ and His Atonement, Repentance, Baptism by immersion by the proper, restored, authority from God, receiving the Holy Ghost by the same proper, restored authority, and enduring through life’s trials to the end, that we can become perfect in Christ. I know this with every fiber of my being. It is true. And what a blessing!

I love this gospel, and I love this work! Called to serve, Called to Virtue.

~Sister McDonald

