“Lead Thou Me On”

“Lead Thou Me On”

IMG_0138So this week has been super long! In a good way, of course. Apparently the mission field is similar to the MTC in that respect – if you make it to Sunday, you can make it the rest of the way.

Can I just say, I love this gospel? So much! We went tracting for the first time this week – apparently that’s not what this area has been famous for – and we have five new potential investigators from the combined three hours of tracting. Wanna know why? Because what we have to say is important. It’s true. It blesses families. It heals hearts and homes.

And sometimes the Lord works in mysterious ways. When we were tracting it was about 107 degrees. And eventually it got very tiring. So we knocked on ‘one last door’ to have it open to a painter from Mexico. Wow. I had no idea I’d have to pull out those sad Spanish skills so quickly! Turns out he’s a returned missionary from like forty years ago, and he had an RM son, as well as an elder out right now. What a neat thing to come upon! We left him with a passalong Mormon.org card with the Spanish speaking elders’ names and number to give to one of his coworkers.

I don’t know what I would do without knowledge that my Heavenly Father loves me and knows me. That’s what I’ve really been learning the past few days. There comes a point right out of the MTC where you are so excited, so ready to teach people the truly restored gospel of Jesus Christ, that you can hardly stand it! And inevitably a point right after that where you realize you really can’t help everyone, and you can’t do it alone. It’s impossible. That’s when you’re humbled enough to reach out to your Heavenly Father even deeper than before, because this truly is His work and His glory.

I think the reason why He allows us 18/19 year olds to go proclaim His true and restored gospel is because this is truly where the next generation of parents are made. I was able to call my parents last week right before my flight, and my wonderful dad reminded me of this. If He wanted everyone to know the truth right now, and accept it, He would send His prophets and apostles to each house we end up visiting. But the blessings and promises we receive by serving Him faithfully in these precious and critical years are too much for Him to pass up. He loves all of us, and His plan is for us to become perfect, as He is. The only way for this to happen, however, is through Christ’s Atonement AND our own participation. The entire first chapter of James talks about how faith without works is dead. How do we even show Him our faith? Through acting the part.

I know this gospel is true. I know it blesses families. I know it has been restored in the latter days, even as it has been restored over and over since the beginning of time. Prophets are upon the earth today. And He is hastening his work. What work, you may ask? Moses 1:39 states, “For behold, this is my work and my glory, to bring to pass the immortality and eternal life of man.” We are His work. We are His glory. This life is not the end, but it is so incredibly important.

My challenge this week to you is to research the Plan of Salvation. In the scriptures, on lds.org, wherever it may be. This is the reason I have hope for the future. This is the reason I am here, the reason you are here. So learn it! I promise you, that it will bless you and your families in ways you can’t even imagine.

I love this gospel. I love this work. I love my Savior, Jesus Christ, and I love my Father in Heaven.

Called to serve, Called to virtue.

Love,

Sister Kayla A. McDonald

NOTICE: This email message is for the sole use of the intended recipient(s) and may contain confidential and privileged information. Any unauthorized review, use, disclosure or distribution is prohibited. If you are not the intended recipient, please contact the sender by reply email and destroy all copies of the original message.

