“Our Savior’s Love”

“Our Savior’s Love”

So this week has been crazy exhausting. It’s been really great though. In the past week we’ve nearly doubled the numbers we have for goals here, and we’ve been really focusing on relying on the Spirit in our planning and in going about our day. I think it’s really interesting to see how much Heavenly Father really is in the details of our lives, if we’ll allow him to be.

The area in which I’m serving reminds me a lot of Utah. There are a lot of members in a small area, consisting of about 6 neighborhoods. The whole ward lives between three streets, with the church building right there at the end. It’s really interesting to see the dynamics of the ward. We had a member show us a video from the church, a short one called “Bloom Where You’re Planted,” highlighting youth from the Las Vegas area that really was beautiful. It’s amazing to see how the true Light of the World burns brighter next to worldly darkness.

(On a side note: Strangely, I think it’s rained more in Las Vegas the past few weeks than it did all of my time in Utah. Weird. Also, Elder Anderson and Elder Callister are coming next week for a two-mission conference, and Sister Kekauoha and I are singing in the choir for the special musical number! I’m so excited… hopefully I’ll get to see Sister Tucker!! And all the other great NC missionaries from back home. I met an Elder Kennedy yesterday, and found out he’s Jessica’s brother from Colfax!! Best day ever. Which is honestly every day.)

I think it’s also really interesting to think about what we really are doing here on a mission. We are here to “Invite others to come unto Christ” through His restored gospel. If we weren’t absolutely certain that this is the true Church of Jesus Christ, the true fullness of the gospel, why would we be here? This work is hard, and often discouraging and exhausting. But we young men and women who serve missions know that though the course may not be easy, it is worth it. We have seen the tremendous blessings of the Restored Gospel in our own lives, and we want to bless our Father’s children with that same knowledge and testimony because it will have the same effect – they will know that though this life is not and will never be easy, it is so worth it.

I love this gospel. I love this Church. It is not just another church. Every time someone closes the door on us, saying “not interested,” I still feel how Heavenly Father loves these people, but they’re really closing the door on Him, on the opportunity to come closer to Jesus Christ, to find true joy and happiness.

I know this is exactly where God wants me to be. I know we have a living prophet today, and that following His words will allow us to find true happiness and peace in this life, and joy in the life to come. I know it, even more than I know that I love my own family. I know that through this, the Savior’s gospel, I can live with my family and my Heavenly Father eternally.
I know it. I live it. I love it.

I love you all, and I hope you can see Heavenly Father’s blessings in your lives this week, because I know they are there.

Called to Virtue, Called to Serve.

Love, Sister McDonald

