“We Thank Thee, O God, For a Prophet”

“We Thank Thee, O God, For a Prophet”

Holy cow! General Conference! What a beautiful thing! If there’s anything that ever makes you want to jump up and participate in the work of salvation, it’s gotta be hearing the counsel of prophets, seers, and revelators. There were so many beautiful and wonderful talks this year, I just can’t help but smile and know without a doubt that Heavenly Father really loves us and wants to bless us with direction in how we need to live our lives.

So basically, General Conference is amazing. And even if you are not a member of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints, there is some amazing advice out there. Especially for families, for women, for morals. If there’s one thing I took away from this conference, it’s that the gap between the Lord’s way and the world’s way is widening every single day. We are eventually going to reach the point where we have to choose where we are going to stand. There will be no sitting on the fence here. The world’s society is deteriorating. It’s really obvious to see. Do you let your children play outside the same way your parents let you? Not a bit. Families are growing more and more important in helping children determine which way their life is going to go.

I would just like to take a moment to be grateful for my family. I love my family. I’m pretty sure everyone that knows my family loves my family. I have an AWESOME family. Why? Because I have been born of ‘goodly parents’ who love me, but most importantly love the Lord, and have raised their children to put the Lord FIRST. Not right after football ( though I’m sure that was tempting… ๐Ÿ˜‰ ). Not right after work. FIRST. If you follow that greatest commandment to love the Lord thy God with all thy heart, you will want to be the person you need to be. You will want to love other people. You will put your family as the highest priority and you will be BLESSED with safety and security in this life, and joy in the life to come! If we rely on Heavenly Father, then even when the storms of life shake us and rail against us, we know that everything will turn out the way it is supposed to. I have a great faith and hope in Him, and I know that’s because I grew up in an environment conducive to questions, and because I knew that my parents felt that having a testimony was important. Watching them read the scriptures and bear their testimonies gave me that same desire. Same with my siblings. Knowing that my older brother placed a priority on being married and sealed in the temple (to an AWESOME returned sister missionary!!) gives me hope that I can do the same. I cannot stress enough how important families are. And I love my family. ๐Ÿ™‚

Called to virtue, Called to Serve.
Much Love,
Sister Kayla A McDonald

