“Did You Think to Pray?”

“Did You Think to Pray?”

Transfers come up super soon. I can’t believe it’s been three months already! Time goes by so quickly on a mission! I could honestly be here forever, though, as long as I knew it was what Heavenly Father wanted me to do.

This week we’ve been trying to find people to teach, and visiting less-active members. It’s really amazing to see what a change our visits can bring over people. We met one lady and her granddaughters who’ve been under the radar for years, I guess. Her granddaughters each have a Book of Mormon, but weren’t raised as members. We aren’t really sure the story there, but we had a great visit with them, with the promise of returning. What really struck me most about that visit is how much she reminded me of my grandmothers, but how different it was, because they have sought to follow the Spirit in everything they do, and can easily talk about Heavenly Father, and pray for others. I think the saddest thing on a mission is when people won’t pray. My heart just overflows with compassion with those who feel so separated from their Father in Heaven that they feel like they can’t speak to Him.

Today I want you to know that Heavenly Father DOES want to hear from you. Don’t fall into that trap of waiting until He tells us first! He already has made it perfectly clear – it is a commandment to pray to Him. That’s not because He wants to make us do something we don’t want to, but it’s literally like a phone call. I’ll tell you what, (and I cannot say it enough!) that if I could talk to my Mama or Daddy by bowing my head and just speaking? We would NEVER stop talking. And that’s how it should be with our Father in Heaven. That’s the only way we can truly have His influence in our lives. And that’s the only way we can truly recognize truth.

I love this gospel, so much. I love my Heavenly Father more than anything, anyone. I know He has performed mighty miracles in my life to allow me to be here, right now. And I am so grateful for it. I can only hope to repay Him every day by working my hardest, and truly rejoicing in His gospel. I love His children! One of the other sisters said to me the other day that sometimes it just stinks that as a missionary, you meet people and just automatically love them. It just happens. But you know what? I love it! What a wonderful way to live, loving all those you meet like your own brothers and sisters?

Called to Virtue, Called to Serve
Much Love!
Sister Kayla A McDonald

