“Count Your Many Blessings”

“Count Your Many Blessings”

This past week was transfers – sorry, I didn’t have time to post! Sister Kekauoha was transferred to another area to be a Sister Training Leader, and I was blessed to have Sister Cox join me in our two areas here. She’s an upstate New Yorker (East Coast represents well here in Vegas!) and she’s been out about 14 months or so. This will probably be her last area, since she goes home in March. It’s been really interesting to get to know her – she is SO much like me! I’m very excited for this transfer.

Regardless of how excited I am about the work here, this week has been pretty rough. It’s definitely given me the opportunity to see just how positive Heavenly Father has helped me to be in the past 3 months – much more positive than I ever was before my mission! It is wonderful to see how I have been able to change, and how I’ve been able to be a blessing to the lives of others.

Something that Sister Cox told me the other day really resonated with me. I don’t have to worry about being the salvation of other people – that’s not my role in Heavenly Father’s work, and I would never be able to do it anyways. All I am asked to do is to invite others to come unto Jesus Christ, who is the true Salvation of the children of Heavenly Father. As I remember this, and as I remember why I really came here on a mission to serve Him, I feel so much peace and comfort, knowing this is exactly where He wants me to be, and exactly where I want to be, as well. I love this work so much! Because I truly love these people that I have been blessed to serve.

It’s interesting to see how in the past two weeks, we’ve had so much happen. We have four people (two of them young boys) reading the Book of Mormon and praying to know if it’s true, and if baptism is the right step for them. We also have about the same number of families trying to do the same things, but to come back to church after being less active. I can’t imagine how hard that must be, but I know that Jesus Christ is ready to receive them back into His fold if they will just allow Him to do so. I just know that as they are diligent and seek after the truth, then they can know for themselves just as I know for myself, that this is truly the Lord’s church restored upon the earth, and that this is His true gospel, the ONLY way we can really return to live with Heavenly Father again, as He is. Perfect.

I know with every fiber of my being that the work I’m doing here is of eternal importance. I’m not just here to become a better person, or to ‘serve my time’. This is real. More real than real. This is the work and glory of God.

And He’s allowing me to be a part of it. 🙂

I love you all! Thanks so much for the prayers and well wishes. I appreciate them greatly.
Called to Virtue, Called to Serve
Love,
Sister Kayla A McDonald

P.S. Of all people, guess who’s now in my district? Elder Kennedy. SMALL WORLD!

