Finding Faith

Finding Faith

A wise man once said:

Adversity Quote

Reading through the past couple years of my life, and reflecting on what I have personally encountered in this crazy life, I am both overwhelmed and humbled at the thought of my own life’s story. Any emotional growth that may have occurred in the short time directly preceding, during, and following my mission is completely dwarfed by the direction Heavenly Father has taken my life. While I’m still confused at a lot of the mixed blessings and experiences I have had in merely two years, I do know that I have not traveled this path alone, which is utterly amazing to me.

Not only have I had the Lord basically carrying me through the past few years, I have had so many ‘angels round about me’ to bear me up in my own personal, seemingly never-ending Gethsemane. I just want to say to those very angelic friends and relatives and not-quite-strangers: Thank you. You have no idea how much I needed your help, your guidance, your presence.

If there is one thing that I’ve learned, it is that I really had NO idea what having faith meant. I have always tried to live my life with faith, which I took to mean as being willing to ‘share my light’ with others, and knowing in my heart that as long as I followed what Heavenly Father had planned for me (Including being close enough to Him to have an inkling of what that means) that everything would work out. I honestly believed that going ‘forward with faith’ meant basically moving forward, oblivious to pain. Okay, so maybe not quite, though I would say a lot of how I viewed faith may have gotten mixed up with the Nike slogan: “Just do it.” I had convinced myself that faith was a shield against adversity, rather than a path through it, and I… was wrong. There is so much more to faith.

So while I get back into the habit of writing, that’s what I’ll be writing about here. My path to faith, my journey to find joy. I hope something in my story helps someone, but I really hope that in my story, you will find encouragement and strength rather than comparison and doubt.

Let me leave you with one last thought:

Adversity Quote - Thomas S Monson

